Newsletters‎ > ‎

Starward 06 June 2013

Elements & Qualities in Astrology

Second in a Series of Seven

Shared by Duffy McCoy

Two of the many fascinating layers of astrology are elements and qualities. The elements are Fire (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius), Earth (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn), Air (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) and Water (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces). Cardinal (Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn), Fixed (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius) and Mutable (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces) are the qualities. Balance is a place we all seek, but what do you do if you have more Water signs than any other element or you have no Earth. This is the second in a series of seven articles that will assist you in reaching your balance point.

So what happens when you have no planets in an Earth sign? You can be spacey, have trouble concentrating, struggle with daily tasks, or have super ideas but no idea how to achieve results. You may also be touch deprived, spend too much time in “artificial” environments or you may feel disconnected from your body. When I feel like this I go outside in my back yard and stand barefoot in the grass and just breathe. I have made up my own grounding ceremony for those times when I don’t feel like I have it all together. Or what if you have too much Earth you may be over disciplined.

Some ways that you can ease the frustration are by spend time sitting on the ground. I also need water so I find when I go to the beach and either dig my feet in the sand or lay on a towel I am getting a 2 for the price of 1! Gardening is a perfect time to get your hands in the earth. Have you ever thought about a pottery class working with clay? What about installing tile flooring and then going barefoot in your home? You can add the following colors to your home and/or wardrobe, yellows, oranges, gold, tans, browns and terracotta. The shapes that you can add are squares and rectangles. You can also hang art work of earthy terrain. If you have too much then the above mentioned are things you might want to remove from your environment.

Next month AIR!


Current Planetary positions:


Q: Why was astrology invented? A: So economics could be an accurate science.



What is happening in June?

Special points of interest:

•New Moon 6/8 @11:56 am 18 Gemini

•6/7 Neptune SR @4:26 am 5 Pieces

•6/11 Gamma Delphinid Meteors Shower favorable

•6/21 Sun enters Cancer @ 1:04 am Summer Solstice Sun rises in same place for 3 days

•6/ 23 Full Moon @ 7:32 am 2 Capricorn

6/25 Jupiter enters Cancer

6/26 Mercury SR @9:08 a 23 Cancer

June 21, @ 1:04 am Happy Solstice. The Summer Solstice Sun now rises on the Galactic Cross near the Galactic Edge letting us know we are at a Turning of a Great Age. This is an event that occurs once in 26,000 years for a period of time. The minimum window is 36 years when the disk of the Sun is on the exact center line of the Galactic Equator from 1989 to 2016. 

At the very least we know we are still near the exact center point and that is why honoring the Solstices at this time is more important than ever as we are not only seeding the next seasonal cycle but also seeding the next 26,000 year cycle.

June 21, Friday. Waxing Moon passes 6.6 degrees N of Antares at 1:00 pm activating this Behenian star thought to be a gateway or stargate to the center of the universe and the place where souls ascend out of this realm. Said another way Antares was considered to be the Golden Gate of Ascension by the ancients. The Moon is a transmitter opening the Antares Stargate Portal of ascension worth seeing if you have a clear evening sky. (Good time to contemplate or meditate on your path)

June 25, Tuesday. The Nodal Axis is very close about a degree away and will be reaching 15 degrees of Scorpio (North Node) &Taurus (South Node) on July 7. 15 Degrees of Scorpio/ Taurus marks the cross-quarter points known as Samhain (Scorpio) & Beltane (Taurus). Only one time in 19 years will the nodal axis align with the cross-quarter points. We are in the window of that now suggesting there is a re-alignment with the intended expression of these archetypes. Scorpio and Taurus are the two archetypes most connect to the tantric mysteries and represent the tantric axis.
If you have parts of your personal chart that are in this area of the sky this is an important ceremonial time to align with your destiny as it relates to the tantric mysteries as a path to spiritual fulfillment. Remember that the word tantra comes from Sanskrit. ‘Tan’ means expansion & ‘tra’ means liberation. 

JUNE 25 @ 7 pm

Mary Cox

  • Let’s Talk Luminaries
  • Sun and Moon in the charts
  • Basics will be covered
  • How they can be effective when used in progressed charts

Without the Sun one cannot fully integrate the energies of the planets through the Higher Self.

Astrology and the understanding that all is related, learning about the cycles and which ones are the most important is key to being able to truly use Astrology effectively.

Each one of us are a part of a greater Soul Group which is determined before birth.


"There are more things in Heaven and Earth than are dreamed of in our philosophy." ~ Sepharil